NYX Eyebrow Cake Powder- Dark Brown Review, EOTD

20150709_213252-1-1I have always had scarce brows since beginning but never really tried any eyebrow pencil/powder. Once, in school time I did use black pencil on my brows and scared everyone around (yeah! I actually did look scary). Years later, now, thanks to this world of beauty blogging and youtube gurus I learned the technique of filling the eyebrows and the golden rule thereof. GOLDEN RULE is- don’t ever ever fill your brows with black pencil/powder. It looks very stark and into the face type. Always use- light brown if you’re fair and dark brown if you’re medium or above, it look very natural and not at all made up. So this was the gyaan of the day.

Now lets’ move up to the review of the day. It’s the eyebrow powder I am using these days to fil in my brows.

2015-07-10 10.26.58

What NYX says:

NYX Top Selling dual shade eyebrow compact features:

  • Two shades of eyebrow powder to fill in and define brows
  • Powders that can be used on their own or blended separately for a natural match
  • Slanted brush for precise application and a round wand to shape and style
  • Six separate color combinations to create a perfect match

Price: $5.99 (Rs.999/- at Amazon)

Ingredients:

20150709_214032-1

Packaging: is compact, simple and made of plastic. Is sturdy enough to survive a few falls and can be easily carried along in handbag.

Shade: powder is available in 6 shades ranging from blonde to black. I have it in shade Dark Brown/Brown and its perfect for my type of skintone. Infact this will work across majority of skintones easily.

20150709_213356-1

What I think:

This is the first eyebrow powder I tried and am more than happy with it. Though it has its own shortcomings but as a beginner, this is good to start with.

The kit contains 2 shades of brown powders, wax, angled brush and a mascara type brush.

Both the powder are well pigmented. I use the lighter brown shade to fill in my brows and it looks oh so natural! Wax is pretty thick and I avoid using it generally, it makes my brows feel heavy.

The angled brush is stiff but picks less powder at a time so I have to dip it multiple times while filling. Also the brush is bit small for my convenience. The handle could have been a bit longer but its ok, I make it work for me!

The staying power at this price is awesome. Once used, it stays until removed with a good makeup remover.

you can see the difference!

you can see the difference!

Best Features:

  1. Highly pigmented powders.
  2. Compact size
  3. Contains everything you need for brows.
  4. Inexpensive
  5. Awesome staying power
  6. Easy to work with

Not so best features:

  1. Brush could have been slightly longer
  2. Availability in India

20150709_213636

Rating: 4/5

Do I Recommend: in case you too have scarce brows or parlous lady messes up your brows too often, you can buy this. Availability and price in India is an issue but in case any of your friends/relatives is visiting states, you should definitely ask them to get this, it’s a steal at $6.

Adios Amigos!

9 thoughts on “NYX Eyebrow Cake Powder- Dark Brown Review, EOTD

  1. This is much cheaper than the bobby brown one and seems good too. I wish it was available at the time I got the bobby brown. Easily could have saved few bucks 😦 . Nice review dear

Leave a Reply

