Most Iconic Red Lipstick of all times- Review, Swatches, LOTD

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Review

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Ruby Woo Review

MAC Retro Matte Ruby Woo-This lipstick needs no introduction. This is and will be the most iconic reds of all times and is in most cases, first red lipstick of girls (not for me though, my first one was All fired up, reviewed here). Initially I thought that blue based red would not suit me and I always preferred orangish red shades but this lipstick changed my perception and I love it more than any other red now.

Read on to know more.

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Review

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick  Ruby Woo Review

What MAC Cosmetics Says:

Formulated to shade, define and showcase the lips. Hundreds of hues, high-fashion texture. The iconic product that made MAC famous.

Teen Vogue 2014 Reader Choice Beauty Awards- Best Red

Price: Rs. 1450/-

Ingredients: Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Kaolin, Ceresin, ParaffinIsononyl Isononanoate, Microcrystalline Wax, Silica, Carnuba,Hydrogenated polyisobutene, Vanillin, Tocopherol, Glyceryl linoleate, PVP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Mica, Titanium hydroxide, Iron Oxides, Blue 1 Lake, Bismuth Oxychloride, Carmine, Red 6, Red 6 Lake, Red 7 Lake, Red 28 Lake, Red 30 lake, Yellow 5 Al Lake, caprylic, orange 5 lake, red 33 lake, yellow 6 lake, yellow 10 lake

Packaging: is same as all other MAC lipsticks-plain black bullet. It gets really annoying when in hurry to find one out of many… I personally prefer color coded or atleast see through packaging.

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Review

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Ruby Woo Review

Shade: MAC describes Ruby Woo as ‘very matte vivid blue red’ and I couldn’t agree more. It is very matte and is a bright blue based red which instantly brightens the face. It is a very bold and into the face kind of shade, definitely not for faint hearted. Dusky skin beauties will be able to rock this better than fair ones.

Texture: as we all know retro matte are one of the driest lippies around but also the easiest to wear! Dry lips will definitely need a lip balm underneath. On my normal lips , there is bit of tugging and pulling required to get the color on.

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Ruby Woo Review

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Ruby Woo Review

Final Thoughts:

First and foremost I love MAC lippies for their fragrance. Everytime I open a MAC lipstick, I sniff it for few seconds and then start applying. Heavenly vanilla fragrance!

Despite having dry lips, I am a matte lover and MAC retro matte range is every matte lovers delight! Mattest matte of all times! I generally apply a thin layer of lip balm before applying this. This way it goes on better and is easy to apply otherwise there is bit of tugging on my dry lips.

On my NC 25 skin tone, the color looks bold, very bold and I restrict its use only to parties or weddings. Once put it easily stays put for 5-6 hours with even heavy meals in between.

Also the color looks different in different lighting. indoors it more of blue toned deep red and in natural light, it is red type red without obvious blue undertones.

You’ll find this shade in every bridal kit. Also most of the MUAs use it in their bridal makeup! That’s why I say this is the most loved red of all times.

Love love love it!!!!!!

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Ruby Woo Review

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Ruby Woo Review

Best Features:

  1. Best red lipstick of all times
  2. Will suit all skin tones
  3. Stays for min. 5-6 hours
  4. Survives meals in between
  5. Awesome pigmentation
  6. Neither bleeds nor transfers

Not So Best Features:

  1. Same black boring packaging
  2. Too dry
  3. Pricey! But then its MAC
MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Ruby Woo Review

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Ruby Woo Review

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Ruby Woo Review

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick Ruby Woo Review

Rating: 5/5

Do I Recommend: Definitely Yes!!!!!!!! Most of you would already have it for sure and in case you don’t have, I would suggest getting this asap! If price is what bothers you then don’t worry we have a dupe for this. The review on dupe would be up soon!

13 thoughts on “Most Iconic Red Lipstick of all times- Review, Swatches, LOTD

  1. I’ve tried Ruby Woo like a dozen times at the store but everytime, I feel it doesn’t flatter my complexion. Its a little too cool toned for me 😦 But it looks amazing on you babe!!! Maybe I’ll give it a try again at the store 🙂

Leave a Reply

