Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

Around 3-4 years back when maybelline had launched the gel eyeliner for the 1st time in India, I had bought it immediately. But then it had dried within few months and I didn’t know what to do with it, so just threw it off and swore not to waste money on gel eyeliners more. Back to 2015, Maybelline launched a new version of same gel eyeliner, I thought okay, lemme give this try again, maybe it would be better this time. I got this in January and it went fine till may-june but again started to dry out. I was really annoyed this time too because I was loving it for its jet black color and also this was the only one which stayed on my upper eyelid whole day.

I searched this topic on internet and voila! Found this easy peasy way to revive the dried gel eyeliners. Let’s begin with the tutorial.

  1. See the dried eyeliner. It has become so very hard.

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

  2. Place it in the microwave. Heat it on 900 watts for few seconds. See the timing will depend on the dryness of gel. When I first time heated it in June, it was good to go in 30 seconds only. This time it hardly melted in 30 seconds, so I heated it again for 30 seconds and 1 min worked.
    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

  3. See the melted eyeliner. Now close the lid and let it sit for few hours.

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

  4. Swatches of before and after-

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

    Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

It’s been a week since I heated it and it applies smoothly today also and I know it will continue to do so for 1-2 months more now.

Alternatively you can add 1-2 drops of oil also in eyeliner and mix it but since I have super oily lids, I was sceptical on using oil.

Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

So now, you know how to revive your dried gel eyeliner without spending any money on mixing agents like duraline.

Do let me know if you try it and also tell me below if you have any other tricks for reviving dried gel eyeliners.

XOXO.

9 thoughts on “Easiest way to revive dried gel eyeliner-Tutorial

  1. I’ve tried this trick too and I agree its crazy easy! Love how you’ve explained it picture by picture 🙂

  2. My gel liner dried out too but I was a bit doubtful on this method but I guess it really works! I usually use the Kryolan Cake Eyeliner Sealer. It is something like Duraline but cheaper! Now that it’s confirmed that the gel liner works perfectly fine, I’ll opt for this method! 🙂

Leave a Reply

