Wise Wednesday: How to choose the right shade of foundation

From today onwards, I am starting a new feature onto the blog: the Wise Wednesday, wherein I will be sharing the tips and tricks which will help make you guys wiser in respect of makeup and skincare.

This is a new feature and I hope you guys like it.

In today’s Wise Wednesday, I am going to help you guys in choosing the right shade of foundation. Lets admit it, all of us have had our shares of wrong foundations. Sometimes the pushy SAs and sometimes the store lighting, whatever might be the reason, but atleast once we have all got a wrong foundation and banged our heads later on.

foundation-1

With me toh, I have 3 foundation bottles lying in my stash which are all lighter than my skin tone! I don’t understand why do SAs try to sell you foundations lighter than the actual skintone. “Gora hone” se obsessed Indians I tell you!

Anyways, lets know more about the right ways to choose the perfect foundation:

  1. Stop swatching the foundation on arm
How to choose the right shade of foundation

How to choose the right shade of foundation

This is the biggest mistake you are committing, trust me. The color of our body and face is never the same. In my case, my arms are 2 tones darker than my face so if I match my foundation to my arm, I’ll end up getting a darker foundation.

  1. Cheeks are better than jawline
How to choose the right shade of foundation

How to choose the right shade of foundation

I have seen girls swatching the foundation on the jawline but that never worked well for me. I always swatch the foundation on my cheeks. That is where I can see the exact color of the foundation.

  1. Foundations are not to make you fairer
This is why you should never buy a lighter shade of foundation.

This is why you should never buy a lighter shade of foundation.

I have had to explain this to every lady in my house! Literally! Girls, the foundation is to make you look like yourself but in a better polished way, hiding the imperfections. Foundations are by no way to make you look fairer or lighter. If you’ll buy a lighter foundation, it will look made up and ashy, which obviously you don’t want. So puuhhllleaaazzeeeee!!!! Choose the shade that matches to your skintone, neither lighter nor darker.

  1. Don’t be deceived by Store lighting

1 foundation that I bought two years back, was absolutely matching to my skintone in the store lighting but when I tried it at home, it looked lighter. Actually the stores have yellow lighting which can be pretty deceptive, always check the shade in natural light. So step out of store and check!

  1. Know your undertones
How to choose the right shade of foundation

How to choose the right shade of foundation

Undertones play an important role in choosing the right foundation. There are 2 types of undertones basically- the pink and yellow, thereis a third one also which is a mix of both pink and yellow but we don’t have such foundations in India so lets take only 2. If you’ll google, you’ll find the veins test to know undertones. But the green and blue veins color never worked for me L. Just stand in natural light and look into the mirror. If you lean towards pale/pink, you have cool/pink undertones and if you look yellow, you have warm undertones. So always choose the foundations with undertones matching to yours, else the purpose is defeated.

  1. Don’t shy away from getting full face done
How to choose the right shade of foundation

How to choose the right shade of foundation

In case you think that the swatches are not helping you out, ask the SA to do the full face for you. This way you would be able to see the exact shade and how it looks on you. C’mon you are spending your hard earned money on it, so why to shy away from testing full.

  1. Click, Click and Click
How to choose the right shade of foundation

How to choose the right shade of foundation

Yessss!!!!! Take plenty of pictures in different lightings. In store lighting, in natural light, in white light. From different angles, with flash, without flash etc. This would help you know how the shade will look and if it gives a flashback in flash or not. When I went to MAC for my foundation, I tried one on, went out took 5-6 different pictures, wasn’t convinced with the shade so went back to MAC and got a tone darker and then again went and took pictures.

  1. Don’t be influenced by SAs
How to choose the right shade of foundation

How to choose the right shade of foundation

Last but not the least. Do no buy any foundation just because of the pressure the SAs build. Its completely OK if you tested 5 shades and did not buy even one, it happens! Nothing to worry about. I went thrice to MAC, tried different foundation and came back without any because I was just not being convinced. Similarly, just buy the shade of foundation only when you know and think that yes this is my shade and suits me to the T. Even if this means multiple visits to shops, its OK.

So these were my suggestion as to how to choose the best foundation shade. Hope this was helpful to you.

How many wrong shades of foundation do you guys have? Let me know below!

P.S. All the pictures in this post have been picked up randomly from google and I do not own/claim title to any of these.

6 thoughts on “Wise Wednesday: How to choose the right shade of foundation

  1. SA’s here are so pushy in giving you the light shade. Sometimes I end up telling them I want to look dark, give me a shade for it 😀

  2. This is a very helpful post dear! You have pointed out all the mistakes we make, especially in india. I apply the foundation on my jaw line, but blend it upto my cheeks to see if it matches my skintone. I never understood why we’re supposed to match foundation to our neck!

Leave a Reply

